About Us

Tourism Marketing Committee

Destination British Columbia works collaboratively with tourism stakeholders across the province to coordinate tourism marketing at the international, provincial, regional and local levels.

The Tourism Marketing Committee (TMC) provides strategic advice to the Destination British Columbia Board and CEO related to:

  • Marketing strategies for the organization;
  • Performance metrics to track the success of the organization’s tourism marketing activities, and the performance of the tourism sector; and
  • Ways to use Destination British Columbia funds to leverage private and public sector tourism marketing funds.

The Tourism Marketing Committee is comprised of representatives nominated by the Regional Destination Marketing Organizations (RDMOs). Two Destination British Columbia Board members also sit on the Committee, which is chaired by Destination British Columbia’s CEO.

October 2016 Call for Applications: Terms have expired for six members, each from one of the regions: Vancouver, Coast and Mountains; Vancouver Island; Thompson Okanagan; Cariboo Chilcotin Coast; Northern BC; and the Kootenay Rockies.

As such, Destination BC and the RDMOs are issuing a call for applicants to serve on the TMC for a three-year term beginning January 1, 2017. Please review the application guidelines and form.

Tourism Marketing Committee Members (as of February 2016):

  • Michael J. Ballingall, Senior Vice President, Big White Ski Resort
  • Brenda Baptiste, Board Chair and Interim CEO, Aboriginal Tourism BC
  • Tyler Beckley, Owner, Three Bars Guest Ranch
  • Kathy Cooper, CEO and Travel Trade Manager, Kootenay Rockies Tourism
  • Pat Corbett, Past Owner and Developer, The Hills Health Ranch
  • Harley Elias, Faculty, Tourism & Hospitality and Business Programs at North Island College and Owner/Operator, Protected Water Charters
  • Clint Fraser, CEO, Northern BC Tourism Association
  • Ingrid Jarrett, Vice President, Business Development, Watermark Beach Resort
  • Andre Kuerbis, Owner, AFK Business Consulting and Services
  • Glenn Mandziuk, CEO, Thompson Okanagan Tourism Association
  • Anne Murray, Vice President, Marketing and Communications, Vancouver Airport Authority
  • Dave Petryk, President and CEO, Tourism Vancouver Island
  • Angela Rafuse, MBA - Hospitality Consultant
  • Mike Randall, Marketing Director, Langara Fishing Adventures
  • Stuart Rempel, Senior Vice President, Marketing and Sales, Whistler-Blackcomb
  • Steve Smith, Owner, Crest Hotel
  • Ty Speer, CEO, Tourism Vancouver
  • John Stibbard, Vice President of Operations, Capilano Suspension Bridge
  • Amy Thacker, CEO, Cariboo Chilcotin Coast Tourism Association
  • Thom Tischik, Marketing Manager, Revelstoke Accommodation Association

To learn more about the Tourism Marketing Committee, please click for their bios.

Destination British Columbia and BC’s Tourism Regions worked together to coordinate a consistent, accountable and transparent application process across the province to solicit nominations for the Tourism Marketing Committee. To learn more about the role of the Committee, read the Terms of Reference.

Members will serve a maximum term of three years, with the initial Committee positions selected as one, two and three year terms to ensure a yearly renewal of opinions and ideas from each region.  Committee members may serve no more than two consecutive terms.

Time Commitment
The Committee will meet on a regular basis, on a schedule determined by members and the CEO. The Committee will meet at least twice each year in person, normally coinciding with the annual strategic planning schedule created by the Board.

Members of the Committee will have their travel expenses reimbursed to attend Committee meetings, but will not be paid a per-diem.

View a map of the Tourism Regions of BC